On sustainability

This blog is not about convincing people about the existence of climate change and the limits of our planet. There are far better information sources to be found both on- and offline. If they can’t convince you I’m pretty sure I won’t as well. The thing with sustainability and everything around it is that it’s an extremely complex thing that involves everything and affects everyone. There really is no buy-out or loophole in this one…

Despite of it’s complexity in defining limits, triggers and amplifiers, the bottom line is pretty easy to get. I like to explain people why sustainability matters by showing them this comic by Stuart McMillen (note the Tintin-cover!). Bottom line: resources are limited, there is no planet B.

While tons of people (rightly!) focus on our carbon footprint, I’d like to talk about an extra aspect called our handprint. While our footprints are a significant measure we’ve all been getting used to, they do not tell the whole story. We don’t just trample the planet; we also sometimes leave a positive impression (read more on the website of Time magazine).

This blog is about generating positive impact and using entrepreneurship to reach more people.

About leyssensjan

WHY I DO WHAT I DO As a designer and entrepreneur, I want to develop systems that have a strong impact on short term and will guide society towards a more sustainable, social and economically different system in the long term. WHAT I DO I blog about and do projects with people and organisations driven by passion. I'm always on the look for new projects, ideas and people to meet, contact me!

Leave a Reply

