Tools for sustainable entrepreneurship

I noticed this blog was moving towards a very theoretical framework on what sustainable entrepreneurship is. Since it’s my objective to research “how to” instead of “what”, I decided to add an extra category called Sustainable organisation tools. In this category I will link a theoretical framework with a tool that will enable you to implement that framework in your organisation.

The posts in this category will always be structured the same way:

  1. Theoretical framework: What is this tool about, how can it be useful?
  2. The tool visualized
  3. How to work with the tool

Important note on tools:

I would like to put special attention on the last point: How to work with the tool. You should always keep in mind that:

  • A tool is a tool, it will not get the work done for you;
  • A tool is only as useful as you let it be (eg. changing your organization chart from a vertical to a horizontal structure won’t change anything if you’re still working like you did before);
  • If the tool doesn’t fit your company, business unit, purpose… you can always alter it. Make the tool fit for your people, not vice versa;
  • Make sure you always understand why a specific tool is used. Using a tool simply because others used it as well is useless;

About leyssensjan

WHY I DO WHAT I DO As a designer and entrepreneur, I want to develop systems that have a strong impact on short term and will guide society towards a more sustainable, social and economically different system in the long term. WHAT I DO I blog about and do projects with people and organisations driven by passion. I'm always on the look for new projects, ideas and people to meet, contact me!

Leave a Reply

