5 ways of wellbeing

While reading ‘The New Materialism’ (a manifesto by i.a. Andrew Simms which I discussed here), I came across a small paragraph on ‘the 5 ways of wellbeing’. It immediately caught my attention, so I looked it up. I turned out to be a report by the NEF (you can find it here) that defines 5 evidence-based ways to well-being (note that non of these 5 ways is having stuff!). These 5 ways are:

  • Connect
  • Be active
  • Take notice
  • Keep learning
  • Give/share

I immediately wondered if (and how) these rules could be applied to organizations? Can a company consciously implement these 5 concepts and use them in order to create a truly inspiring environment for its employees? Is it possible to arrange your company around these 5 ways in such a way that everyone involved (from the cleaning lady to the boss) experiences an increased wellbeing from working there?

It’s well known that inspired, motivated people do a far better job than uninspired, burned-out people. Inspired people lead to inspiring stuff.

As I was going through the list, I couldn’t help but noticing these were also things that are changing the way we do business nowadays:

  • Connect: The companies that are dealing best with their challenges are the ones with a strong network.
  • Be active: It used to be enough to have a vision, to work in the background. Not anymore. If you don’t ship, you don’t exist.
  • Take notice: Companies who know how to use social media to spot trends have an enormous competitive advantage over those who don’t.
  • Keep learning: The Internet brought with it an explosion of information far beyond anything we ever witnessed. If you don’t keep up, chances are your company’s completely outdated in just a couple of years.
  • Give/share: The patent-oriented economy is dying slowly but surely. Open up your business model and witness that next to copycats, there are also tons of people that would like to collaborate with you.

If you are using (one of) these ways in your professional life, please share how and if it helped in increasing your wellbeing.

About leyssensjan

WHY I DO WHAT I DO As a designer and entrepreneur, I want to develop systems that have a strong impact on short term and will guide society towards a more sustainable, social and economically different system in the long term. WHAT I DO I blog about and do projects with people and organisations driven by passion. I'm always on the look for new projects, ideas and people to meet, contact me!

Leave a Reply

