The difference between being honest and being a dick

When working on a project, I tend to have a very direct approach. I don’t like wasting time on small talk or pleasing some board of a company. If someone in a project is wasting my time, not doing a good job or taking the energy and momentum out of a project, I’ll let them know.

The reason why there aren’t that many people really honest or direct is because most people don’t know the difference between being honest and being a dick. It’s hard to make the distinction because the message you’re bringing is the same in both cases. Being honest without acting like an asshole lies in the art of knowing how to tell a story, not so much in what the message is.

The best way to lead a project towards a success story (which is only possible if you are honest and are able to keep your partners motivated) is by treating the people you’re working with like you treat your friends. So go ahead, talk freely, tell them if they said something stupid and accept criticism when you say something stupid. Just don’t act like an asshole.

Being a sarcastic, unfriendly, cynical person might be considered cool for a while, but in the end it’s not the best way to make or keep friends. The same goes for your work. Be honest, don’t be a dick.

About leyssensjan

WHY I DO WHAT I DO As a designer and entrepreneur, I want to develop systems that have a strong impact on short term and will guide society towards a more sustainable, social and economically different system in the long term. WHAT I DO I blog about and do projects with people and organisations driven by passion. I'm always on the look for new projects, ideas and people to meet, contact me!

Leave a Reply

