Working hard versus working long

As an addition to last weeks post, I’ll go in a bit deeper on working hard and working long, and the difference between those two.

A lot of people mistake doing long hours at the office and working hard.  In the book ReWork by 37Signals (which I reviewed previously) the difference is being described pretty good, so I’ll use their words.

Working more doesn’t mean you care more or get more done. It just means you work more.

And as for the managers who reward the people that stay at the office longer:

Send people home at 5. You don’t nee more hours; you need better hours.

And for everyone who’s afraid they won’t get their task done today:

If a task doesn’t get done this very instant, nobody is going to die. Nobody’s going to lose their job. It won’t cost the company a ton of money. What it will do is create artificial stress, which leads to burnout and worse. So reserve your use of emergency language for true emergencies.

For everything else, chill out.

As a bonus, here’s a short video on the matter:

About leyssensjan

WHY I DO WHAT I DO As a designer and entrepreneur, I want to develop systems that have a strong impact on short term and will guide society towards a more sustainable, social and economically different system in the long term. WHAT I DO I blog about and do projects with people and organisations driven by passion. I'm always on the look for new projects, ideas and people to meet, contact me!

Leave a Reply

