On slow communication

Today, I’d like to share with you an interesting trend in communication (or marketing, or getting your message across, however you call it): Slow communication.

Slow communication is a reaction on our current twitter-feed, facebook-post and one-liner communication-culture. It’s about sitting down, and taking the time to connect with those willing to hear your story, and share the full experience with them. Slow communication can be very refreshing in a very high-paced, stressed out environment, where a lot of people still look at marketing as ‘getting your message across, as fast as possible, as loud as possible, as easy to digest as possible. In contrary to this ‘traditional’ marketing model, slow communication accepts that some messages are not for everyone. And if you’re not buying whatever’s being told, it just wasn’t meant for you.

I’m personally a big fan of slow communication. I even schedule out some free time every week to read the blogposts and articles I’m sure of will ask my full concentration. And this is an intresting shift in processing information. Normally, I check my RSS-feed on a daily base (once in the morning, once at 12 o’clock and at night a last time). All the articles I’m sure f will need more focus, I save for later. I look for a free spot in my agenda where I’m absolutely sure I won’t be bother by myself (I can feel pretty annoyed by not actively working on a project) or someone else, and I plan in free time to read, listen to or digest interesting articles.

visu_slow-down

For me, the shift to actually make time to read and process new insights, came from this quote from Scott Belsky:

“People do a lot of due diligence when they make investments with their money and I think that people need to do the same thing with time,” Belsky stresses. “In fact, time is the truly limited commodity. I mean money you can make more and more in your life so there’s not necessarily a limit to that. But there is a limit to time and so I think we should all be very serious with doing due diligence with the time we allocate to something.”

You can read the full article here. It’s basically the same as asking yourself the question: Would you behave like a prick if there was a book written about you?

I try to consciously invest my time in stuff that’s worth investing my time in, and that will make my work worthwhile. Slow communication is about recognizing the true cost of using someones time, and making that investment worth it. I assume most of the people reading this blog are in some way interested in purpose-driven entrepreneurship. I’d like to share with you a recent interview with Simon Sinek on one of my favorite ‘slow communication’-blogs: The Good Life Project by Jonathan Fields.

My personal favorite quote from the interview:

“Never sacrifice the people to save the numbers, sacrifice the numbers to save the people.”

About leyssensjan

WHY I DO WHAT I DO As a designer and entrepreneur, I want to develop systems that have a strong impact on short term and will guide society towards a more sustainable, social and economically different system in the long term. WHAT I DO I blog about and do projects with people and organisations driven by passion. I'm always on the look for new projects, ideas and people to meet, contact me!

One comment

  1. Pingback: Slow communication – My personal favorites | Keep the game, change the rules

Leave a Reply

