We are makers

Last week I attended an event in London called Resource. Apart from the fact that this event was extremely interesting for everyone who’s working on sustainability in an economic context, it was also amazing that even though the crowd was very diverse, there were quit some similarities to be found.

Openness, willingness to discuss viewpoints, experimenting, doing, these are a few of the characteristics the people on this event shared. And it occurred to me that, while I was talking to and meeting different people, these are all characteristics you find in a different kind of movement, the maker-movement. And the more I became aware of this, the more I started testing if these people were also aware of the overlap. Just like me, most of these people were (or at least in some way connected with) makers.

One of the workshops, given by The Great Recovery was called e-waste teardown. Basically, we had a lot of stuff lying on the table,and the objective was to open these products up, see what’s inside of them, and be amazed by the insane complexity of even a hoover. This hands on, discuss-while-experiencing, kind of style is typical maker stuff. And even though I’m a big fan of the maker-movement, I haven’t yet talked about it on this blog.

It’s amazing how much you learn by making, how much fun it is to just do something. If you want to meet interesting people and expand your impact as an entrepreneur, I suggest you find out the nearest maker space, be it a Fablab, Techshop, Hackerspace or whatever other type of space you find, in your neighborhood, and participate in just one project or evening to see if it’s something for you (and if you are into social innovation, purpose-driven entrepreneurship or anything related to these, changes are you’ll love it).

We are creating new ways of doing business.

We are makers.

About leyssensjan

WHY I DO WHAT I DO As a designer and entrepreneur, I want to develop systems that have a strong impact on short term and will guide society towards a more sustainable, social and economically different system in the long term. WHAT I DO I blog about and do projects with people and organisations driven by passion. I'm always on the look for new projects, ideas and people to meet, contact me!

Leave a Reply

